© 2024 WYPR
WYPR 88.1 FM Baltimore WYPF 88.1 FM Frederick WYPO 106.9 FM Ocean City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Vacancy Committee to Pick From 22 Candidates to Fill City Council Seat

AP/Patrick Semansky

A pool of 22 candidates has hopes of filling the Baltimore City Council seat vacated when Second District Councilman Brandon Scott became Council President.

A 13-member committee that includes council members Shannon Sneed and Zeke Cohen as well as a variety of second district neighborhood association leaders will select the future council member.

The council seat is the last elected position to be filled since former Mayor Catherine Pugh’s resignation set off a political shuffle, when City Council President Jack Young became Mayor, and Scott moved into the president’s seat, leaving his second district council seat up for grabs.

Under the city charter, the committee will select a the new council member who then must be confirmed by the council, rather than voters in the district.

The 22 candidates will make their case to the committee Thursday night in a public hearing. City charter says the committee has 30 days to select the new council member by majority vote after the hearing. That candidate must then be confirmed by the City Council.

The council president’s office, which has been handling the vacancy’s logistics, has not released candidates’ applications, as they are considered personnel records by state law.

Candidates include Danielle McCray, the younger sister of Democratic state Sen. Cory McCray (45th) who has worked in Scott’s council member office.

Chanel A. Branch, a daughter of Democratic Del. Talmadge Branch (45th) and a state employee, is also vying for the role.

So is Tamira Dunn, a founder of a nonprofit and a city health department employee who had already declared her candidacy for the 2020 election.

In order to run, candidates must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old, a registered voter and a resident of the second district for at least one year.

The earliest a selected candidate could be confirmed by the council is June 11.

The complete list of candidates is below.

— Ronald N. Bailey

— Chanel A. Branch

— Tamblyn G. Butler

— Glenda S. Curtis

— Christina Delgado

— Cody L. Dorsey

— Tamira Dunn

— Wesley D. Hawkins

— Mark M. Hunter III

— Eric M. James

— Cynthia E. Johnson

— Rodney Leach

— Camille Loya

— Danielle McCray

— Nicholas L. Miles

— Sharita Daniels Obiora

— Allen O. Phillip Jr.

— Cassey A. Richardson

— Bobbi Jo Syms

— Dexter T. Walker

— Gary Williams

— Randi Williams

Emily Sullivan is a city hall reporter at WYPR, where she covers all things Baltimore politics. She joined WYPR after reporting for NPR’s national airwaves. There, she was a reporter for NPR’s news desk, business desk and presidential conflicts of interest team. Sullivan won a national Edward R. Murrow Award for an investigation into a Trump golf course's finances alongside members of the Embedded team. She has also won awards from the Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association for her use of sound and feature stories. She has provided news analysis on 1A, The Takeaway, Here & Now and All Things Considered.
Related Content