© 2023 WYPR
WYPR 88.1 FM Baltimore WYPF 88.1 FM Frederick WYPO 106.9 FM Ocean City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WYPR Board Changes

WYPR Announces Election of Two New Board Members

(BALTIMORE) - WYPR is pleased to announce it has elected two new board members at the annual meeting of the Board of Directors on May 29, 2019, effective in fiscal year 2020. Mac McComas’ and Gayon Sampson’s three-year terms will commence on July 1, 2019.

Mac McComas is the associate director of the Johns Hopkins 21st Century Cities Initiative, the campus hub for research, education and outreach related to expanding economic opportunity for urbanites in developed and developing nations. McComas also serves on the board of Waverly Main Street and mentors at William Pinderhughes Elementary/Middle School in Baltimore City.

Gayon Sampson serves as executive assistant and senior advisor to Mayor Michael O’Connor of Frederick, MD., a position he has held since July 2018. Previously, he was community outreach advisor in the Office of Government and Community Affairs at Johns Hopkins University and Medicine and was a policy associate at the Greater Baltimore Committee, where he specialized in education and workforce policy. Sampson will receive his Master’s in Public Administration at the University of Maryland, College Park in December 2019 and has held positions in government offices at the federal, state and local levels.

WYPR would like to recognize five retiring board members:  Dr. Emile Bendit, who served on the board from 2004 to 2019, was co-chair of the Outreach Committee, served on the Governance Committee and, from 2018 to 2019, was vice chair of the Board of Directors; Albert Williams, who served on the board for 17 years, was an original guarantor when WYPR was formed in 2002 and was the chair of the Audit Committee; Bailey Morris-Eck, who served from 2004 to 2019, co-chaired the Governance Committee and served on the Development Committee; Tyson King-Meadows, who served from 2013 to 2019 and was a member of the Outreach Committee; and Susan Baisley, who was a member of the Finance Committee.

WYPR is a National Public Radio station serving Baltimore, the state of Maryland and beyond. WYPR was founded in 2002 by local community members. It is an independent licensee with a diverse Board of Directors consisting of Maryland residents. In addition to airing national and international radio features, WYPR excels in local programming including its news, public affairs and cultural programs. WYPR is located at 88.1 FM on the radio dial and at 2216 North Charles Street in Baltimore. As a listener-supported radio station, all contributions to the station are tax-deductible to the fullest extent of the law.  For more information, visit www.wypr.org or call 410-235-1660.

June 14, 2019 

Amy Burke Friedman

Related Content