WYPR Board of Directors | WYPR

WYPR Board of Directors

Board Meeting Minutes are at the bottom of this page.

Tom Ainsley
CEO, Ainsley & Co.

Cindy Amitin, M.D.

Susan J. Baisley
Associate Vice President, Johns Hopkins University

Emile Bendit, M.D. - Board Vice-Chair, Co-Chair, Outreach Committee
Psychiatrist, Private Practice

Cynthia A. Berman - Co-Chair, Governance Committee
Principal, Kramon & Graham, P.A. 

Frank D. Boston, Esquire
General Law Practice

Anthony S. Brandon - Ex Officio/President and General Manager

Andrew M. Brooks - Chair, Development Committee
Retired Vice President, T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc.

Darcy C. Carroll, Board Chair
Managing Director and Wealth Advisor, Private Wealth Management at William Blair

Jeffrey Hettleman
Partner & CFO, Brightview Senior Living

Cheo Hurley
Executive Director, Park Heights Renaissance. Inc.

Gary Levine -  Co-Chair Outreach Committee
Partner, Shirlen Limited Partnership

John P. (Jack) Machen
Special Chief Solicitor, Baltimore City Law Department

Lisa Manzone
Senior Vice President, Human Resources, McCormick & Co.

Mathew B. Martin
Executive Vice President, PNC Bank

Dale R. McArdle
Retired Non-Profit Director

Tyson King-Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Political Science, UMBC

Neil Meyerhoff, Esq.
Vice-President, Hendersen-Webb, Inc.

Bailey Morris-Eck
Trustee, The American Funds, Trustee, Salzburg Global Seminar
Columnist and Sr. Advisor, London Financial Times, A Wall Street Journal Publication

John Prugh, Chair, Finance Committee
President, CEO, Alex Brown Realty

Ann Quinn
Quinn Strategy Group

Anne Schelle
Managing Director, Pearl TV

Sophia Silbergeld
Director of Strategic Partnerships, Adeo Advocacy

Laura Speer
Associate Director, Policy Reform and Advocacy, Annie E. Casey Foundation

Peter Toran - Board Secretary
Writer & Communications Specialist; Former Vice President of Communications and Strategic Planning, University of Baltimore

Meadow Lark Washington
Psychotherapist in private practice

Albert Williams
Former President, Williams Construction

Founding Board Members

In 2001, Johns  Hopkins University decided to sell WJHU.  While there were several groups that wanted the radio station, Jim McGill of  Johns Hopkins sought a buyer that consisted primarily of local citizens, that would keep the NPR public radio format, that had professional broadcast  management, and that had the resources to complete a sale.  A group assembled by long-time broadcaster, Tony Brandon, met all the criteria and the purchase agreement was drafted. Mercantile Bank (now PNC) agreed to lend the necessary funds for the transaction if it was guaranteed by community citizens.

These individuals came together to secure the bank loan for the purchase of WYPR – essentially ensuring the continuation and future of a public radio station for Baltimore and Maryland.  We remain grateful to these guarantors or Founding Board Members for making WYPR, as it is today, possible.

Barbara Bozzuto
Anthony S. Brandon
William C. Clarke III
Darielle & Earl Linehan
Jonathan Melnick
Charles H. Salisbury, Jr.
Albert Williams