© 2022 WYPR
20th Anniversary Background
WYPR 88.1 FM Baltimore WYPF 88.1 FM Frederick WYPO 106.9 FM Ocean City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rousuck's Preview: The 2018-19 Theater Season

mathenee_treco__jordan_donica__ruben_j._carbajal___michael_luwoye_-_hamilton_national_tour__c__joan_marcus.jpg
Photo by Joan Marcus
/

Early in September each year, Midday theater critic J. Wynn Rousuck skips her usual weekly review to look ahead at the upcoming theater season, and spotlight some of the interesting productions coming to the region's stages.

Judy begins her 2018-19 Season Preview by noting the exciting news from Baltimore Center Stage, which last month announced its new artistic director, Stephanie Ybarra, currently Director of Special Artistic Projects at The Public Theater in New York City.   She assumes her new role at Center Stage in October.  

Of course, the big theater event coming up in Baltimore will be The Hippodrome's production of Hamilton, toward the end of the season next June.  The historic theater will also be staging a revival in April of the Tony Award-winning musical Come From Away, based on the true story of how the people of Gander, Newfoundland, welcomed a crush of airline passengers stranded there by the 9/11 attacks.  Among the many other Tony laureates getting revivals in Baltimore this season is the uplifting coming-out musical, Fun Home, now set for a January-February run at Center Stage.   

Here are links to theaters staging productions mentioned in today's Season Preview:

Baltimore Center Stage, https://www.centerstage.org

Hippodrome Theatre, https://baltimore.broadway.com

Everyman Theatre, www.everymantheatre.org

Chesapeake Shakespeare Company, www.chesapeakeshakespeare.com

Vagabond Players, https://vagabondplayers.org

Fells Point Corner Theatre, www.fpct.org

Annapolis Shakespeare Company, http://www.annapolisshakespeare.org

Arena Players, http://arenaplayersinc.com

Children’s Playhouse of Maryland, https://www.cpmarts.org

Rapid Lemon Productions, rapidlemon.com

Theatre Project, theatreproject.org

Maryland Ensemble Theatre, https://marylandensemble.org

J. Wynn Rousuck has been reviewing theater for WYPR's Midday (and previously, Maryland Morning) since 2007. Prior to that, she was the theater critic of The Baltimore Sun, where she reviewed more than 3,000 plays over the course of 23 years. Her feature coverage for The Sun included a comprehensive series chronicling the development of the Tony Award-winning musical, “Hairspray.” Judy got her start at The Cleveland Press and at Cleveland’s fine arts radio station, WCLV. Her broadcasting experience also includes a year as an on-air theater critic for Maryland Public Television.
Host, Midday (M-F 12:00-1:00)
Rob is Midday's senior producer.