© 2021 WYPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Community Advisory Board

WYPR’s Community Advisory Board plays a vital role in representing the interests of our listeners, and we want to expand this diverse group of people who believe that WYPR’s news, cultural, and informational programming can connect us all. If you are a listener – in Frederick or Ocean City, as well as the greater Baltimore area – we’d love for you to apply to join this dynamic group!

To nominate yourself, or someone you know, please email cab@wypr.org with a short bio, resume, and letter of interest before Monday, May 10, 2021 at midnight. Your application will be reviewed by our nominating committee, and if you’re a good match for the specific skills and areas of expertise we’re seeking, we will be in touch to set up an interview after Wednesday, May 12.

If you have any questions about the application process or the status of your nomination, please email cab@wypr.org. No phone calls, please.

The WYPR Community Advisory Board ("CAB") serves as a vehicle for outreach to the communities served by WYPR and its affiliate stations.  It advises the station regarding programming and other matters affecting the community.  It has no managerial responsibilities or authority.  Over the last two years the CAB's members have begun a series of meetings between the WYPR news department and members of the community for the purpose of informing the news department about important issues in the community and the views of its citizens. This work has provided new connections to the community for the news department and lead directly to segments on Maryland Morning and other WYPR programs.  This has also led to a series of meetings called Ascertainment (Community Conversations as of 10/20) where different organizations present to WYPR CAB, Board and volunteers to share what they are doing successfully in our communities.  View those meetings.

The CAB is presently exploring additional ways to connect the community to the station and to increase the diversity of the listening audience. The CAB meets bi-monthly from September through May, generally within a few days after a WYPR Board meeting.  All meetings are open to the public and the public is invited to attend. In addition to discussing WYPR's operations, representatives of the station frequently make presentations to the CAB about their programs and projects.  Guests during the last year include Tony Brandon, Former WYPR President and General Manager, Sheilah Kast, and Tom Hall.

Community Advisory Board Purpose and Requirements
Community Advisory Boards like WYPR's CAB are required to be formed pursuant to the federal law that established the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. The purpose of the CAB is to advise the station with respect to whether the programming and other policies of the station are meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station. The CAB is permitted to review the programming goals established by WYPR, the service provided by WYPR, and the significant policy decisions rendered by WYPR. The CAB may make non-binding recommendations to WYPR's management. It has no managerial responsibilities or authority.

CAB members are a volunteer group of interested citizens and listeners who are appointed by the WYPR Board of Directors. The CAB is required to meet at regular intervals. The CAB deliberates independently of station management and WYPR's Board of Directors.  It determines its own agenda and elects its own leadership.

CAB By-laws

Meetings Will Be Held Virtually Due To COVID 19 Until Further Notice.  Meetings Begin at 6 PM

October 7, 2020
December 9, 2020
February 3, 2021
March 31, 2021

CAB Meeting Minutes can be found here.

WYPR is located at 2216 N. Charles Street, Baltimore, MD  21218

CAB Members

Tammy C. Black - Vice Chair
Vice President of Cummunications, Immune Deficiency Foundation

Beth Cavanaugh
Strategic Communications Manager, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

Norma Cohen
Online Auction Assistant, Center Stage

Jannette L. Dates, Ph.D.
Dean Emerita of Communications, Howard University

Caroline Devereaux
Artist, Cat & Milk LLC

Tia Goodson
Senior Producer, Storyfarm

Kelly Gray
Associate Professor of History, Towson University

Virginia Green
Formula Services Manager, MHA/Navigator

Omeid Heidari
Ph.D. Candidate, Johns Hopkins University

Wendy Jeffries
Executive Director, TasteWise Kids

Michael Karas

Gail Amalia Katz
Vice President (Retired), American Cancer Society

Tom Klassen
Licensed medical cannabis production

Jennifer Lavella
Director of Marketing and Communications, St. Vincent de Paul of Baltimore

Amy Beth Leasure
Chief of Staff, Baltimore City Department

Flannery McArdle -  Chair of Ascertainment

Margaret Mitchell
Teacher, Howard County Public Schools

Dana Moulden - CAB Chair
Management Consultant, DXM Consulting LLC

Don Palmer

Winston Philip
President, Sequivalent, LLC

Savannah Wood
Archives Director, Afro-American Newspaper

Kevin Yang
Investment Analyst, T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc.